Wire sizes: any standard size? Mix & match sizes?

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Kobur
Approved Member

Wire sizes: any standard size? Mix & match sizes?

Post by Kobur »

Is there any standard size for wires between ESC and motor? Also is there any problem with having different sizes of wires from the motor than come off the ESC? I have some 10, 12 and 14 gauge wire. My old ESC (see signature line) appears to have 14 or 16 gauge wire.

Also, can solid copper wire be used for RC cars? I assume it is not commonly used because stranded wires are lots more flexible, but I'm not sure if that is really the reason.

I realize this seems a pretty basic question, but I am new to RC cars and still learning.

Thanks,
Kobur
RC10T2-Futaba MC210CB, FP-R112JE, FP-S148, Futaba Magnum Sport, FlySky FS-GT3B & FS-GTR 3
Arrma Granite, Traxxas Bandit TQ Brushed (kid's cars);
RC18B2 w/Mamba Micro Pro/5300kV Castle Creations 0808 Motor;
RC10B4.1 RTR w/ SC500BL ESC & Reedy 3300kv motor

Coelacanth
Approved Member

Re: Wire sizes: any standard size? Mix & match sizes?

Post by Coelacanth »

It partly depends on the connectors you use. For example, I use EC3 connectors wherever possible. Those should accept wires from 14 to 10 GA. Thicker guage wires--8 GA and up--might be difficult to solder onto Deans connectors. I use 12 & 14 GA wires, either should be fine for restored vintage cars, even with up-to-date electrics installed.
Completed projects: CYANide Onroad Optima | Zebra Gold Optima | Barney Optima | OptiMutt RWD Mid
Gallery - Coel's Stalls: Marui Galaxy & Shogun Resto-Mods | FrankenBuff AYK Buffalo | 1987 Buick GNX RC12L3

jwscab

Post by jwscab »

rule of thumb is....if you are using something more than a stock silver can motor, use the largest wire diameter that fits in the connectors and routes cleanest. More wires in the braid=more flexible. You don't want solid copper wires as they will eventually fatigue and stress crack, then break.

Kobur