My Team Car Project

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Zedmaster
Approved Member

My Team Car Project

Post by Zedmaster »

Hello everyone, my name's Matt. Just joined the forum yesterday. For some reason I decided to dust off my old Team Car I got in (I think) 1992 when I was a teen. A local shop opened up an indoor offroad clay track, and I've got the urge to fix 'er up and let 'er race like she was born to do. I haven't done anything with RC since I graduated high school in '96, so there's a (re)learning curve. I'm hoping to get the car to a point where I can at least have fun racing against the modern cars on the track. For the moment I'm hoping to keep the time and money investment to a minimum because my real life has a lot of demands on me :(

Here's what I had on it as a teen (and still have, it pretty much all works except the shredded tires):

Reedy Sonic L (I think it's a 14.5 turn
Trinity Sapphire (17.5 turn single)
Pretty much everything stock, except the front shock tower mount is the graphite one from the World's Car (broke the original on a curb I think)

My plans for it are:

Clean it up
Relube the Stealth completely
Rebuild and reoil the shocks
Get a decent battery, maybe NiMH
New body, or repaint the existing viper body
New wheels/tires
Figure out how to get the slop out of the steering
Figure out if I want a new motor
Run it
Race it
Have fun

So far I've got some JCracing 2.2" 5-spoke wheels w/ 1/4" axle mountings coming over from Jolly Old England... Working out the miscellaneous parts I'll order from tower soon.

I only have one question that I haven't seen a thread for. Does anyone have a general suggestion on what some of the hardest parts to replace on the old RC10's are? My biggest fear is I'll be having a blast running it, and bust something I'll never be able to find or fabricate.

-Matt
Attachments
RC10-before.JPG

CamplinP
Approved Member