Top speed?

Brushless, lipo, spectrum, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

RC104ever
Approved Member

Top speed?

Post by RC104ever »

Just wondering how I can either measure or estimate my top speed? I have a mamba max pro, 8400 mah ni-Mh battery and a 4600 kv motor, full bearings.

I have to guess that it's somewhere around 30 mph - but wondering what the RC10 ran stock with a 6 cell back in the day with bearings?
- Chris
Lots of cars...so many cars

drbelleville
Approved Member

Re: Top speed?

Post by drbelleville »

Well some have used a handheld GPS or a Car type GPS attached to the car, gives you a rough estimate. I think Toys-R-us used to have a cool Speed / Radar gun contraption that seemed to work too.

RC104ever
Approved Member

Post by RC104ever »

I saw something that looked like some kind of an app on an iphone or ipod touch in a car that went 70+ mph. I just want something like a radar gun that would work. Do any of the new radio / transmitters that have telemetry send speed back to the transmitter?
- Chris

shane
Approved Member

Post by shane »

Yes. Spektrum Dx3s, for one.

losiXXXman
Approved Member

Post by losiXXXman »

Not all that accurate, but you could do a speed trap. Two lines across the road, measure the time to traverse, and do a little math.

Example:

100ft trap, 6 second pass.

(100ft/6second) * 1mile/5280ft* 3600sec/hour = 11.4 Mph Slow example!

Keep in mind that flat out speed doesn't always mean much. When I used to race stock years ago, most cars averaged like 12-14 MPH for a 4 minute race. Speed is ETREMELY realtive to the space that you are running in. 25 or 30 MPH sounds slow, but on a track with a long straight of 60-80ft it's another story.

RC104ever
Approved Member

Post by RC104ever »

Ah ha! After I posted this I figured I could do this but I didn't know how to do the math. Thanks
- Chris

floodx
Approved Member

Post by floodx »