New addition...

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

TamiyaTony
Approved Member

New addition...

Post by TamiyaTony »

Hi all. I am completely new to the AE RC10. I fell in love with this buggy back in the late 80s, but had no way to afford it. I had to settle for a Cox Bandito at the time. It even had the Kyosho name on the bottom of the pan. After reading the excellent history thread about the 25 years of RC10, I am pretty certain I have a late model Cadillac car. The box has the correct address and IFMAR wording and a printed label on the side. The gold pan itself has the "A" stamped on it that I can see (far as I know there is no "AB" - didn't take the motor off) and the original tires are the 4 rib. The original owner kept it pretty clean. I am really pleased with the condition because my plan is to restore it to box art. It doesn't seem to be altered at all except for the body mounts to accomodate a Parma 60s Corvette body that I will never use. I will take those mounts off and replace with the originals. Oh yeah, those are aluminum rims on the car as it sits. I do have the original unused rims and tires that will go on instead.
As for the electronics, there's the original msc and looks like a 7cell battery pack. The KO Propo EX-5 radio, receiver and servos are in there now. I like this radio, but when I tried the car for the first time, it seemd a bit glitchy. Can this be rectified with the existing setup? I believe it's an AM 27mhz... Also, it doesn't move in reverse. Perhaps these are things I just need to tweak.
I will do a tear-down and clean this puppy and then reassemble. I hope it's not too daunting of an endeavor. It may take a while because I am also working on another project, but I will post updates when they occur. I appreciate any input and advice as to doing a restore. It's great to be part of the club now and look forward to meeting you all. Cheers.

Tony