RCSoup RC10 Project - Opinions wanted.

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Keep the chassis and Transmission or replace?

Keep the chassis, Stiffen it up & Keep the Tranny
9%
Keep the chassis, leave it alone & Keep the Tranny
9%
Keep the chassis, Stiffen it up & Replace the Tranny
No votes
Keep the chassis, leave it alone & Replace the Tranny
5%
Ditch the chassis, keep the Tranny
36%
Ditch the chassis & the Tranny
41%

Total votes: 22

kevin107
Approved Member

RCSoup RC10 Project - Opinions wanted.

Post by kevin107 »

Hey guys,

Was recommended your forum by a couple people and glad I finally joined. Let me first introduce myself, I'm Kevin, I am one of the co-founders of RCSoup.com. This year we are doing a couple restoration (well, rebuild) articles on the site, and hopefully heading to VONats in CT. While I've owned a couple RC10's as a kid, and used to race them on oval.. I am far from an expert. I would like your guys' opinions on what I should leave/keep on this buggy below. It is the start of my personal rebuild.

I'm not dead set on keeping any of it the way it is.. so.. if I should swap out the MIP tranny for a Stealth, or the Hot Trick chassis for a graphite or tub, or the arms to RPM.. I'm all ears.

Here's what I want to accomplish. I want to revitalize this buggy, or at least parts of it. I'm not keen on keeping the tiny front arms or the white parts on it.. I think I would rather run the rc10 worlds sized RPM arms front and rear. I am also thinking I would like to run different shock towers.

This will be a runner at the VONats, hopefully for more than 1 year. I don't want anything crazy fragile or rare on it that I could ruin.

I plan to strip and either polish, reanodize, or powdercoat the nose plate, motor plate, and the shock bodies to a coordinating color.