JRX2 Build

The place for all things Losi.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

chriswolfson
Approved Member

JRX2 Build

Post by chriswolfson »

Hi all,

I'm new to the board - I think this is only my 2nd post. I've been enjoying looking at all the vintage cars and builds. I've been racing since 1987 and have probably wheeled every one of the cars on these boards at one time or another. It's a great walk down memory lane.

I'm still a pretty competitive person and race weekly. Unfortunately, I didn't save any of my "old" cars or equipment at any point. My current stable of cars is a TLR 22, Team Losi XXXT CR, Team Losi XXX4 G+, Losi XXX SCT, and a TLR 8ight 2.0. Despite having a great lineup of cars, I've always wanted to own a vintage car. I'm probably the type that wants mine to be a runner, unless of course I can find a mint chassis where it could become a shelf queen.

I just found out that we took the plunge tonight when my dad e-mailed me that he purchased a vintage JRX2 from e-bay. I could really use some advice from people who have restored these cars on where to find parts and how to restore old parts to a better condition. Some of the questions on my mind before I even receive the car is how to re-build the diff - can you still get that sticky, purple diff grease that the JRX2 used? Can I find the older style cartridges for the shocks or am I better putting newer, threaded shocks on the car? I'm ok with using modern parts to upgrade the car in spots as I really would like to make it a runner. Honestly, I'd like to set it up to run brushless and Lipo in the stock class with modern sized wheels and tires.

Any tips and advice anyone could give me would be highly appreciated. I'm looking forward to the project and am sure I'll have a lot of questions to ask in this thread.

Here's a few pics of my current stuff to give you the idea of the level of neatness and cleanliness I want to get out of this vintage ride.