First Time Painting Lexan

Show off your paintwork, tips/tricks, decals, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

TM Ru22311
Approved Member

First Time Painting Lexan

Post by TM Ru22311 »

I have a restoration project that will be close to finish soon. I am going to order the body from TBG. I have some painting experience, but never painted an rc body before. What is the best way to get nice results? I do have an airbrush I bought used last Summer, but have never used it (or any airbrush for that matter). Just wondering if an airbrush is better than using a bomb can? Also, what type of paint do you guys use? I have painted a few Xbox's with Krylon Fusion. It has an adhesion promoter in the paint and is great for plastics, but I am unsure about Lexan. I may have to get that airbrush kit out and do some practicing with it :/

Coelacanth
Approved Member

Re: First Time Painting Lexan

Post by Coelacanth »

I think a good way to research this is to search "painting lexan RC body" or similar keywords on YouTube. This one is pretty comprehensive:

[youtube]gnlAULx33fw[/youtube]
Completed projects: CYANide Onroad Optima | Zebra Gold Optima | Barney Optima | OptiMutt RWD Mid
Gallery - Coel's Stalls: Marui Galaxy & Shogun Resto-Mods | FrankenBuff AYK Buffalo | 1987 Buick GNX RC12L3

TM Ru22311
Approved Member

Post by TM Ru22311 »

Awesome! Thank you Coelacanth. If a picture is worth a thousand words, then a video is priceless!

Coelacanth
Approved Member

Post by Coelacanth »

A couple tips I would suggest, additional to that video:

-Use steel wool when cleaning the inside of the body; this roughs it up slightly and promotes paint adhesion. You technically shouldn't need it, but helping improve the paint bond is always a good thing, and you don't see it after it's painted, anyway.