First run impressions of your RC10

General discussion, builds/restorations, etc...

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

shodog
Approved Member

First run impressions of your RC10

Post by shodog »

I had been racing for about a 2 years campaigning a frog then a wildone and finally with a Fox. The fox was competitve but the few who had just bought the new RC10 were just decimating everybody on the track. Luckily my mom came to one race and saw how much faster the RC10's. She was competitive vicariously through me so when my Birthday rolled around my parents bought me a 6010 kit less bearings. I quickly built it up pulling and all nighter to get it running. I was so dissapointed as it was so much slower than my Fox. I realized that having the bearings makes a huge difference in this machine. At $80 for the bearing kit, you had to be a teenage baller to afford it. Eventually I got the bearing kit and everything smoothed out and got faster. So what were your first impressions of your RC10?

xanadu
Approved Member

Re: First run impressions of your RC10

Post by xanadu »

I saw one at a hobby shop in 1986. I had a grasshopper and could not believe how high tech the rc10 was. Metal chassis and shocks, a clear lexan body, and a wing! I got one for Christmas and it was wrapped up under the tree, so I called a friend who's older brother had one and he measured the box so I could compare them. A 6010. I had to pretend to be suprised. Two days of building later, I drove a dream come true out in my driveway. I also learned the hard way while building, that a 4-40 nut will not screw onto a 5-40 top shaft. (after a trip to the hobby shop, wich was closed on Christmas day) That must be why the 5-40 nuts are gold.

delsami
Approved Member

Post by delsami »