Philosophical question about what vintage is.

Feel free to discuss anything NON-R/C related that is on your mind.

Moderators: scr8p, klavy69

Hcp22
Approved Member

Philosophical question about what vintage is.

Post by Hcp22 »

This question maybe has been discussed before, but I like your view on this matter any why.
When you building/renovating a vintage car to become a runner/race car.
Where do you draw the line using new parts like wheels/motor or/and fabricating new parts? Is it still vintage if you are keeping the old design or with you one design?

:?:
Cheers
Lars

My Feedback

cunawarit
Approved Member

Re: Philosophical question about what vintage is.

Post by cunawarit »

This question is so subjective that I suspect that after a 1000 post thread there will be no consensus :)

I'm no expert, but I'd say that if it is a runner using modern running gear is not a problem at all. I don't see the point of running NiCds when there's better more readily available technology around. In terms of crazy powerful brushless motors though, there's good reason not to run them if they will strip every single gear in an old gearbox :D

As for radios, well there's a good reason to go for an older one on something vintage, and that's coz the vintage car will look cooler with the long aerial :)

LurkingCAT

Post by LurkingCAT »

A shoe answer... When do you have your feet planted in some vintage leather shoes? If you add some neon shoelaces that some of us used to kick around in back in the eighties, some would say cool, others ugly - still vintage shoes, but no doubt an unoriginal hop up. New era true soles? Yeah well, as my glittering sense of subjective opinion would whisper - still vintage. New leather? I would now definitely wear a pair of retro shoes – not vintage... I think you will get as many answers as there are members – and maybe more as we change our mind as the thread evolves :lol:

fredswain
Approved Member

Post by fredswain »